**Note: Visitor’s will have to explore the Midland Town docks to find the 4 plaques at this location.
Established in 1901 the Midland Coal Dock was owned and operated by Playfair-White Associates. Coal was brought in on ships and sent out on trains. It was also the source of fuel for the ships coming in and out of harbour. In the first year of operation, the coal dock handled over 7000 tons of coal. In 1917 a crane was built to streamline the loading process. In the 1930s the coal dock was taken over by Canadian Steamship Lines, but fuel oil was already starting to overtake coal as the fuel of choice. Coal was gradually phased out and the need for the coal dock disappeared. The coal dock was permanently dismantled in the early 1970s.