(photo by William J. Gibson, used with permission)
Spanning the waters of Hog Bay, a great wooden trestle bridge was built in 1908 to carry the Canadian Pacific Railway from grain elevators at Port McNicoll. 2141 feet long and 50 feet high, it was one of the longest wooden structures on the continent. The pine timbers were 8″ by 16″ and pilings of B.C. fir were 65 feet long. The builder was Mike McPeake of Port McNicoll. Patrolled by armed guards in both World Wars, this unique and handsome bridge was last used in 1971 and demolished in 1978.
320 King street
Constructed in 1914 as a Federal Government building (post office, Customs and Inland Revenue office). In the Romanesque style. Became the Midland Public Library in 1967. Ontario designated it as a Heritage Building in 1981.
The building was built in 1916 by the Victoria Harbour Lumber Company. President was then Fred Waldie. The building was built, equipped and maintained by the company for the people of the town.
–The Legacy of John Waldie and Sons: A History of the Victoria Harbour Lumber Company, by Kenneth A. Armson Marjorie McLeod, Dundurn Press, 2007 — from page 89
Victoria Harbour, Ontario, originally uploaded by Light Collector.