**Note: Visitor’s will have to explore the Midland Town docks to find the 4 plaques at this location.
Midland’s potential as a gateway for grain entering eastern Canada was seen as early as 1898. The Town House elevator was the first to be built by the Grand trunk Railway, in 1896, and was followed by The Aberdeen, Tiffin and Simcoe elevators. Grain coming from the Canadian west was taken by train to Thunder Bay. From there it was shipped to Midland by boat and unloaded into one of 4 elevators where it then entered eastern Canada by train or boat. 99.9% of the grain went by rail. The industry thrived until transport subsidies were lifted in 1991. Now only the Midland elevator, owned and operated by ADM Mills, survives.
Grain Ships unloading at Midland’s first elevator, Town House.
The Simcoe Elevator stood on the shore across from the Midland Town Dock.
The demolition of the Simcoe Elevator.
The Aberdeen Elevator, up the shore from the Tiffin Elevator. Photo by J.W. Bald.
The Town House Elevator burned to the ground in 1904. It was on the site of the current Midland Elevator.
In this aerial view we can see all four Elevators in Midland. Tiffin Elevator in the foreground, Aberdeen further up the shore, the current Midland Elevator in the top left, and the Simcoe Elevator in the top-middle of the photo. Only the Midland Elevator remains.
Construction of the current Midland Elevator (view from the back), still standing and in use in Midland Harbour. Owned by ADM Mills.
The Grand Trunk Railway Elevator Extension, serviced by train.
Early photo of the current Midland Grain Elevator (now owned by ADM Mills), and the Copeland Flour Mills. Photo taken by local photographer J.W. Bald.
Construction of the Tiffin Elevator in 1908 emphasizing the concrete pouring and positioning of the grain silos.
The Tiffin Grain Elevator in Midland, taken October 15, 1908.